The Arab Lady Knights soccer team on Monday had two players selected to the Alabama High School Soccer Coaches’ Super All-State team.

Junior Alex Murray was selected as an honorable mention at midfielder. Senior Blake Burgett was picked as an honorable mention at defender.

Con-grats to both. They’ve been a part of a lot of success for Jason Guger’s team the past few seasons.

• Douglas is searching for its fourth head football coach in five years after the Marshall County Board of Education accepted Bubba Jennings’ resignation during last Wednesday’s board meeting.

• The Independence Bowl is out of the SEC rotation beginning in 2020. Among the big changes revealed this week by college football reporter Brett McMurphy, the Big Ten and SEC will split a six-year contract with the Las Vegas Bowl, with each conference making three appearances against a team from the Pac-12.

In addtion to leaving the Independence Bowl in Shreveport, La., the SEC will add the Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa.

• Arab High School participates in every sport sanctioned by the AHSAA except one: bowling. That may be about to change at Boaz.

During a Boaz Board of Education meeting last week, Boaz City Schools Athletic Director Patrick Williams shared a summary report for how the school’s athletic program fared for 2018-2019, according to The Sand Mountain Reporter.

With 426 students participating in Boaz sports in grades seventh through 12th, the Pirates won numerous championships. Williams said girls’ tennis and archery took Marshall County championships. Area championships were won by volleyball, girls’ basketball, baseball and girls’ soccer teams.

The cheer team won a regional championship, boys’ swimming won sectional and state championships and Katie Long won a state championship in javelin.

Williams also revealed that his department had revived the middle school golf program, and that the department is also considering an expansion into bowling and esports.

• The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced Monday the names on the 2020 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including 76 players and five coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 101 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks.

Two in particular will be recognizable to local fans:

• Gregg Carr, Auburn-Linebacker: 1984 consensus First Team All-American and NFF National Scholar-Athlete…Three-time First Team All-SEC selection and 1984 SEC Lineman of the Year…Twice led Auburn in tackles, helping the Tigers to the 1983 SEC title and three consecutive bowl wins.

• E.J. Junior, Alabama-Defensive End: 1980 unanimous First Team All-American and member of two national championship teams (1978, 1979)…Three-time First Team All-SEC selection and 1980 SEC Lineman of the Year, who led Tide to two conference titles…Member of fabled goal-line stand defense vs. Penn State in 1979 Sugar Bowl.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.