The boys and girls All-Marshall County basktball teams, as voted on by the coaches, was released this week, and local teams were well-represented.

Brindlee Mountain senior Devon Meadows was voted the co-Offensive Player of the Year along with Jacob Smith of Boaz. Teammate Eric Cumo was named to the the Third Team, while Lions Evan Como and Bryceton Flack were named Honorable Mentions.

Arab senior Jasmine Davis, who has signed a scholarship to play next season for the NAIA Division I defending national champion Freed-Hardeman, was named the girls’ Offensive Player of the Year. She is joined by teammates Natalie Hunt (Second Team), Reagan Malone (Third Team) and Elizabeth Brodhage (Honorable Mention).

Also for Arab, Colby King was a First Team selection. He is joined by teammates Blake Kelley (Second Team), Logan Parker (Third Team) and Kent Tyler and Brooks Malone (Honorable Mention).

Both Arab coaches – Justion Jonus for the boys and Jessica Thompson for the girls – were voted by their peers as coaches of the year.

“Both Arab coaches are coaches of the year – not too bad,” said Jonus. “A lot of Arab players awarded, also.”

Brindlee Mountain’s Chantzley Kirkland was a Third Team selection for the girls.


Offensive Player of the Year: Jacob Smith (Boaz) and Devon Meadows (BMHS)

Defensive Player of the Year: Chi Jordan (Albertville)

MVP: Trinity Bell (Albertville)

Coach of the Year: Justin Jonus (Arab)

First Team

Trinity Bell (Albertville)

Colby King (Arab)

Jacob Smith (Boaz)

Devon Meadows (BMHS)

Jared Teal (Douglas)

Logan Bonds (Guntersville)

Second Team

Dane Harding (Albertville)

Ben Allen (Albertville)

Blake Kelley (Arab)

Josh Pelham (Asbury)

Brian Montgomery (Boaz)

Landen Harbin (DAR)

Josh Perry (Guntersville)

Third Team

Chi Jordan (Albertville)

Brodie Canterberry (Albertville)

Logan Parker (Arab)

Jay Jones (Asbury)

Eric Como (BMHS)

CJ Sims (DAR)

Koltyn Harbin (DAR)

Raygan Edmondson (Douglas)

Honorable Mention

Kent Tyler (Arab)

Brooks Malone (Arab)

Matt Wilson (Asbury)

Skylar Bearden (Asbury)

Taylor Smith (Boaz)

Taylor Ray (Boaz)

Evan Como (BMHS)

Bryceton Flack (BMHS)

Nick Hardin (DAR)

Daniel De’armas (Douglas)

Davis Hawk (Guntersville)

JD Banks (Guntersville)


MVP: Grace Walters (Asbury)

Offensive Player of the Year: Jasmine Davis (Arab)

Defensive Player of the Year: Makayla Phillips (Albertville)

Coach of the Year: Jessica Thompson (Arab)

First Team

Grace Walters (Asbury)

Jasmine Davis (Arab)

Makayla Phillips (Albertville)

Lilly Beth Morrison (Boaz)

Hannah Lightsey (Albertville)

Second Team

Tori Rojek (Douglas)

Natalie Hunt (Arab)

Brianna Bolt (DAR)

Grace Kelly (Albertville)

Olivia Vandergriff (Guntersville)

Jayden Watkins (Albertville)

Third Team

Anna Grimes (Asbury)

Katie Long (Boaz)

Peyton Lankford (DAR)

Reagan Malone (Arab)

Chantzley Kirkland (BMHS)

Honorable Mention

Niah Stegeman (DAR)

Hannah Sanders (Albertville)

Camille Thompson (Douglas)

Rebecca Kovac (Guntersville)

Emma Beck (Boaz)

Julia Rice (DAR)

Elizabeth Brodhage (Arab)

Alexis Adams (Asbury)

Nikole Pilkington (Asbury)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.