The Marshall County Commission voted 3-1 Wednesday to impose a $12 fee on vehicle tags to pay for school resource officers in the Marshall County School System.

The commission discussed the fee in public meetings for about three months.

The county will begin collecting the fee in January.

Only those residents who live in the unincorporated parts of Marshall County (outside the city limits of Arab, Guntersville, Albertville and Boaz) must pay the fee, with two exceptions. Those exempt from paying the fee are:

• Residents 65 and older;

• Residents who have a 100-percent disability determination from the Social Security Administration.

For more on this story pick up Saturday’s Tribune or purchase an e-edition.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.